Wing_Ultimate Footy Tipping Competition.png

Wing_Ultimate Footy Tipping Competition.png

NRL News

Qld name three Origin debutants


Queensland coach Kevin Walters has named three debutants in his Maroons squad for next week's State of Origin series opener against NSW in Brisbane.

David Fifita - aged just 19 - and fellow forward Joe Ofahengaue join utility Moses Mbye as the new faces in the 17 after the trio were named on the bench for the June 5 Suncorp Stadium clash.

Daly Cherry-Evans has not only been named at halfback despite battling an ankle injury but is also expected to be named captain at a special Maroons team ceremony at 2030 AEDT on Monday night.

Queensland: Kalyn Ponga, Corey Oates, Will Chambers, Michael Morgan, Dane Gagai, Cameron Munster, Daly Cherry-Evans, Jai Arrow, Ben Hunt, Josh Papalii, Felise Kaufusi, Matt Gillett, Josh McGuire. Interchange: Moses Mbye, Dylan Napa, Joe Ofahengaue, David Fifita.

© AAP 2019